Re-Appointments And New Appointments To Singapore Sports Council

28 Sep 2012

Singapore, 28 September 2012 - The Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports (MCYS) announced today the appointments of the members to Singapore Sports Council. Six new members have been appointed and eight current members, including Chairman Mr Richard Seow and Deputy Chairman Mr Cheah Kim Teck, re-appointed. These appointments will take effect from 1 October 2012 and will be for a two-year term.

  • Chairman - Mr Richard Seow, Director, Pacific Heights Investments Pte Ltd. Chairman, Republic Polytechnic and ACS Board of Governors
  • Deputy Chairman - Mr Cheah Kim Teck, Chief Executive Officer, Group Motor Operations, Jardine Cycle & Carriage Limited
  • Member - Mr Bernard Tan, Managing Director, DBS Bank. Commissioner, DBS Indonesia
  • Member - Ms Liew Wei Li, Director, Student Development Curriculum, Ministry of Education
  • Member - Mr Low Teo Ping, Vice-President, Singapore National Olympic Committee
  • Member - Mr Andreas Sohmen-Pao, Group Chief Executive Officer, BW Maritime Pte Ltd
  • Member - Dr Teo-Koh Sock Miang, President, Special Olympics Singapore
  • Member - Mr Yam Ah Mee, Chief Executive Director, People's Association

New appointments
  • Member - Mr Kon Yin Tong, Managing Partner, Foo Kon Tan Grant Thornton LLP
  • Member - Mr Lim Eng Lee, Chief Operating Officer, NTUC Club
  • Member - Mr Hugh Lim, Deputy Secretary-designate, Ministry of Culture, Community and Youth
  • Member - Mr Razali Saad, Former Captain, National Football Team; General Manager, J Oasis Logistics Pte Ltd
  • Member - Prof Tan Cheng Han, Professor & immediate past Dean NUS Faculty of Law. Advisor Singapore Taekwondo
  • Member - Ms Jessica Tan Soon Neo, General Manager, Microsoft (Asia Pacific). President, Netball Singapore

Out-going members
  • Member - BG Chia Choon Hoong, Commander 9 Div/Chief Infantry Officer, Ministry of Defence
  • Member - Dr Janice Khoo, General Practitioner, The Rafflesian Clinic & Surgery
  • Member - Mr Lee Hong Chuan, Manager, Disaster Recovery & System Operations, IBM Singapore
  • Member - Ms Ong Toon Hui, Deputy Secretary, Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports
  • Member - Dr Saiful Nizam bin Subari, Family physician, National Healthcare Group General Practitioners
  • Member - Dr Benedict Tan, Sports physician, Head/Senior consultant, Changi General Hospital Sports Medicine Centre and President, Singapore Sailing

2. MCYS and SSC welcome the new Council members and express their appreciation to all outgoing members for their invaluable service. The composition of the new Council is at Annex.


For media enquiries, please contact:
Ms Nur Diana Jamaludin
Assistant Director (Media Relations)
Communications and International Relations Division
Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports
S. Parameswaran
Assistant Director, Media Relations
Corporate Communications & Relations
Singapore Sports Council

Back to top


career banner on homepage 230x93

Join Sport Singapore and play a role in shaping the sporting community of Singapore.


Latest News

News archive with press releases, media information and key speeches that shape sports in Singapore


Sign up for our mailing list for all of the latest happenings.


Be Social

Get closer to the action - subscribe to our social channels.


Sport Singapore map

We welcome suggestions, feedback and enquiries.

3 Stadium Drive, Singapore 397630
6345 7111