Sports Safety Committee

Sports Safety is integral in our promotion of a sporting culture among Singaporeans. In 2007, the Sports Safety Committee released a comprehensive report with detailed findings on sports safety standards and systems aligned with international best practices to the public. A review of the report was also carried out by the committee as part of its continual improvement efforts in 2014.

In 2016, the Sports Safety Committee reconvene with the scope of water safety subsumed under the Committee.

The Sports Safety Committee is jointly chaired by Dr Benedict Tan, (designation) and Chief Lai Chin Kwang (designation). The Sports Safety Committee Members are appointed by SportSG for a term of 2-years (8 Sept 2016 – 8 Sept 2018) renewable at the end of the term. 

The key objective of the Committee is to work with all the relevant stakeholders, both in the government and private sector on a holistic and comprehensive approach to preventing sporting incidents. 

The terms of reference of the Sports Safety Committee are as follows:
  • To provide strategic guidance on the development, dissemination and implementation of sports and water safety guidelines for Singapore, incorporating risk management and injury prevention principles.
  • To review the 2016 Sports Safety report and incorporate the water safety aspects
  • To establish specialist sub-committees in specific areas such as water safety, event medical coverage, exercise & training facilities / risk assessments, sports related injuries (sudden death & heat injuries) and training & education in life saving skills and pre-participation screening.
  • To recommend priority areas for community outreach and educational programs, targeting groups such as community sports clubs and event organizers.
  • To present the Committee’s recommendations to CEO, SportSG for his review and endorsement before public consultation and media release.

The 2016 Sports Safety Committee members are as follows:

Sports Safety Committee Members 2016

(With effect from 8 September 2016)


Dr Benedict Tan
Head and Senior Consultant/Sports Physician,
Changi Sports Medicine Centre,
Changi General Hospital
Mr Lai Chin Kwang
Chief, ActiveSG
Sport Singapore


  1. Prof Venkataraman Anantharaman
    Senior Consultant, Department of Emergency Medicine,
    Singapore General Hospital
  2. A/Prof Fabian C L Lim
    Associate Professor of Exercise Physiology
    Principal Investigator, Exercise Physiology Laboratory
    Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine
    Nanyang Technological University
  3. Dr Ivy Lim
    Associate Consultant, Changi Sports Medicine Centre
    Changi General Hospital
  4. Dr Tong Khim Leng
    Chief and Senior Consultant Cardiologist
    Changi General Hospital
  5. Dr Mandy Zhang
    Changi General Hospital
  6. Dr Ng Yih Yng
    Chief Medical Officer/Director Medical Department
    Singapore Civil Defence Force, Ministry of Home Affairs
  7. Dr Gorny Alexander W
    Hd Soldier Performance Centre, HQ Army Medical Services
    Singapore Armed Forces
  8. Ms Delphine Fong
    Director, Sports Safety
    Sport Singapore
  9. Ms Chris Koh
    Asst Director, Events
    Sport Singapore
  10. Mr Ong Kim Soon
    Director, Physical, Sports and Outdoor Education
    Ministry of Education
  11. Mr Loi Pau Khuan
    Dy Director
    Training, Safety and Audit Branch, Home Academy
    Ministry of Home Affairs
  12. Dr Clive Tan
    HQ Medical Corps,
    Singapore Armed Forces
  13. Mr How Kwang Hwee
    Police Sports Association
  14.  Mr Goh Cheng Chuan
    Dy Director, Community Sports Division
    People’s Association 
  15. Mr Michael Lim
    Head and Senior Clinical Exercise Physiologist
    Sports Medicine Program,
    KK Hospital  
  16. Dr Ang Seng Bin
    Head of Family Medicine Service
    KK Hospital 
  17. Dr Cheah Si Oon
    Consultant, Emergency Medicine
    Ng Teng Fong General Hospital
  18. Dr Lim Ang Tee
    Registrar, Sports Medicine
    Changi General Hospital
  19. A/Prof Jason Lee Kai Wei
    Head, Human Performance Laboratory
    Defence Medical & Environmental Research Institute
    DSO National Laboratories 
  20. Dr Marian Wang
    Senior Consultant Forensic Pathologist
    Forensic Medicine Division,
    Health Sciences Authority
  21. Dr Joanna Chan Shi En
    Senior Resident, SGH Emergency Medicine
    Ministry of Health Holding
  22. Mr Han Kok Teng
    Manager, Health Screening and Management, Regional Health & Community
    Outreach Division
    Health Promotion Board
  1. Dr Arif Tyebally
    Dy Head & Consultant,
    Emergency Medical Department,
  2. Mr Paul Fong
    Executive Director,
    International Waterski and Wakeboard Federation 
  3. Mr Richard Tan
    Singapore Lifesaving Society 
  4. Mr Noorazman Noorain
    Principal Engineer, Reservoir Management Division
    Catchment and Waterways Department
    Public Utilities Board 
  5. Mr Lam Yan Hoe
    Dy Director, Parks/Lifestyle Business
    National Parks Board  
  6. Mr Yum Shoen Kang
    Senior Assistant Director, Sports and Recreation Centre,
    Nanyang Technological University 
  7. Mr Edwin Ker
    Executive Director
    Singapore Swimming Association
  8. Mr Julian Ong
    Senior Manager, Beach Operations,
    Sentosa Resilience, Island Operations,
    Sentosa Development Corporation

Committee Report

Download the 2015 Sports Safety Committee Report

Download the 2007 Sports Safety Committee Report

The latest Sport Singapore news delivered to your inbox